Text Box:

In 1855 James M. Sims saw the need for education in Simsboro. Using an old log stage, J.L. Monroe became the first teacher in a one room schoolhouse. The school had to relocate for a period of 15 years. In 1904 the school became accredited by the state. In the early 1900s the school burned down and classes were held in a church. In 1933 the auditorium was built. In 1947 the present building was erected, along with a gym and cafeteria in 1965. In 1978 the L wing was added to the main buildings. In1986 an elementary annex, ag shop, library, and a multipurpose gym was added. In 2006 construction began on a new addition to the school. A jr. high wing was added to the high school. The new wing adds 10 new classrooms and a new home economics lab. At present the school stands where the 1933 auditorium was built. The community of Simsboro has a proud history in supporting education.

History of Simsboro High School

Simsboro High School Principals:


Prior to 1888- John Moore, and W.L. Hodge

1888- Loula Hayes, and William Hodge

1899- A.J. Johnson, Mr. Wright, and Mr. Nelson ●1904 -1905-W. W. Bingham ●1905-1906- J.Van Sant ●1906-1907- Otis Bullock

● 1907- 1911- C.E. Hooper ● 1911-1912- W.A. Bynum ● 1912- 1917 H.E.Townsend ● 1917-1918- H.L. Campbell ● 1918-1919-

Edwin W. Doran ● 1919-1926- J.G. Hicks ● 1926-1933- Roy B. Hester ● 1933-1937- R.E. Oxford ● 1937- Helen Madden ● 1937-1947- Morelle Emmons ● 1947-1964- James Harold Napper ● 1964-1971- Charles L. Cook ● 1971-1975- Gerald W. Cobb ● 1975-1976- Richard B. Hinton ● 1976-1978- Dr. Gerald W. Cobb ● 1978-1983- Norris W. Alexander ● 1983-1990- Dr. David Gullatt ● 1990-1998- Harry L. Jones ● 1998-1999- Dr. Charles R. Scriber ● 1999-2002- Judy Mabry ● 2002-2006- Tim Nutt ● 2006-2007- Barbara Kirkland ● 2007-2008- Donna Doss ● 2008– 2010- Earlene Jackson

l  2010-2014 Ricky Durrett  l  2014—Present Dr. Byron Miller

Simsboro High School Board Members

W. A. Burt

M. W. Hood

T. C. Alexander

Dan Durrett

L. M. Napper

L. Dowling

P. Woodard

Curtis Dowling (current)

Text Box: Home Page